Larkspur Times

Crafts, Life, etc

Quilted scarf

on November 27, 2012

I recently came across another pin on Pinterest that I just had to try.  It is a quilted scarf.  My first attempt went really well but I had to cut all the pieces from the little bits of scrap fabric that I had that looked good together.  On my second attempt I am using Charm Squares.  One is Good Morning! by Moda and the other is Spa by Moda.  The front of the scarf is either one or two charms wide and as long as you want.  I like 14 blocks long because it gives you enough to wrap around.  The back is a long strip of flannel. Jo-anns has their flannels on sale for 50% off so I got quite a bit.  So let’s get started!

I’m going to start off with the Good Morning! charms with the light yellow flannel.  The Bojangles  is to keep me going while I work.

The first stitch on all the squares.  Chain stitching is the way to go for this, a little 1/4 inch seam is all I did on them.  Keep attaching them til you have a long chain.  After all the squares are together, put the flannel piece, cut to the size of the chain of squares, right side together.  Sew it along the edge, leaving an opening at one end to turn it inside out.

Once you turn it all around, fold the end that you left open inside itself like shown, that way it looks like all the other sides.  Start stitching a 1/4 inch seam around the edge to finish it off.

And the finished product! It is about 4.25 ” x 75 ” .  You can use any size squares or double the squares if you wanted a wider scarf or longer scarf.  This one is super cute and can easily be used if there is only a slight chill to the air.  If you have any questions about this please let me know!

 

Leave a Reply

